We are proud to offer 24 hour bail bonds services in Santa Maria, California. This article will discuss frequently asked questions regarding bail bonds in Santa Maria, California. For immediate help with posting bail for a loved one, please call us 24/7.
Bail for DUI in Santa Maria
California's legal definition of DUI is operating a vehicle under the influence of any substance, including drugs, that can affect your nervous system, brain, or muscles and includes illegal substances, prescriptions drugs, and even over the counter drugs if they affect you to a significant degree. You are driving under the influence if you drink alcohol or take any kind of drug that impairs you to the point that you are unable to drive like a sober person and, yet, you drive, anyway.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
DUI is most often charged as a misdemeanor. The penalties for DUI can include:
- Driver's License Suspension
- Fines Up To $1,800 For A First Offense
- Possible Jail Sentence
- Probation Of Three To Five Years
Felony DUI Penalties
DUI charges can be filed as a felony, if:
- You have already had three DUI offenses.
- You have already been convicted of DUI, at least once.
- Your actions cause an accident that injures someone else.
A felony conviction of DUI can carry more severe consequences than that of a misdemeanor DUI, including incarceration in a state penitentiary.
DUI Causing Death Or Injury
California Vehicle Code 23153 VC deals with death or injuries caused by a person driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Code 23153 VC reads:
"(a) It is unlawful for a person, while under the influence of any alcoholic beverage to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. (b) It is unlawful for a person, while having 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. . . . (e) It is unlawful for a person, while under the influence of any drug, to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. "
Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated
If you kill someone while driving drunk, you could be charged with vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, a more serious crime than DUI causing injury. This charge may result if you drive under the influence and inadvertently cause the death of another person.
If, while driving under the influence, you intentionally engage in activity that is likely to result in the death of another person. The second scenario, intentionally engaging in activity that is likely to cause death, will result in the more serious charge of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated and carries an even more serious penalty.
Penal Code 273(a)
The second statutory provision that applies to a child endangerment enhancement of DUI is a violation of Penal Code 273(a) which covers crimes that involve cruelty to a child while under the influence of alcohol and includes driving a care with a minor passenger while under the influence and intentionally inflicting harm or mental anguish on the child while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
DUI Refusal/Forced Blood Draw
According to Vehicle Code 23612, any person who operates a vehicle in the State of California is considered to have already given their consent to having their blood or breath tested for the purpose of determining alcoholic content if that person is lawfully detained on suspicion of having violated the drunk driving laws of the state.
This means that if you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI, you are obligated to submit to the breath or blood test when asked by the investigating officer. The refusal to submit to a breath test or blood test could result in a forced blood draw to test your blood for alcohol content and an increased penalty if convicted of DUI.
Arrested in Santa Maria
If you are arrested in Santa Maria, you will be taken to the Santa Maria Jail for booking. Booking is a process wherein the arrestee’s fingerprints and photographs are taken and charges are formally recorded. At this time, the person who is arrested can use the posted bail schedule to determine the amount of bail money that will be required to get released from jail without having to wait for a bail hearing.
Santa Maria Jail
812-A West Foster Road
Santa Maria, California 93454
If you or a loved one has been arrested in Santa Maria, you can call Mr. Nice Guy Bail Bonds for help. The licensed, professional bail bond agents employed by Mr. Nice Guy can help find out where your loved one is being held and how much bail will be required to obtain their release.
How Much is Bail in Santa Maria?
The bail for each county is set according to a schedule that is posted at each jail facility and available in court. The judge can set a different amount of bail, during a bail hearing, however. The standard Felony Bail Schedule for Santa Barbara County can be found here.
To figure the total amount of bail required for felony charges requires several steps, you can complete the worksheet found here.
Cannabis Bail Bonds for Santa Maria
While medical marijuana, (or cannabis), has been legal in California since 1996, and, more recently, recreational cannabis use has been legalized in the state, as well, there are still circumstances that can land you in a world of trouble. If you fail to follow the guidelines regarding cannabis, its uses and regulations, you may find yourself in trouble with the law.
In November of 2016, California citizens went to the polls and voted “yes” on Proposition 64, which made way for the legal, recreational use of marijuana by adults. Adults are defined as being persons over twenty-one years of age. Persons under twenty-one are not allowed to possess or use marijuana, in any form, without being prescribed by a doctor.
Prop 64 made it legal for adults to possess and use cannabis for recreation. However, it maintained strict guidelines for the sale and distribution of marijuana. The sale of marijuana requires a state-issued license. If a person is caught with more than one ounce of marijuana, they could be charged with the intent to distribute. It is even more likely that they would be charged if the cannabis is packaged in small baggies or found with scales or other packaging paraphernalia. Also, if you are carrying marijuana and get stopped by authorities in an area where drug deals are known to take place or caught in the act of making a sale, you will most likely be charged.
Call Mr. Nice Guy Bail Bonds for help with Cannabis Bail Bonds in Santa Barbara County at (844) 400-2245.
Assault Charges in Santa Maria
Assault and battery are often used together, which might lead you to think that the two charges are the same, or, at least, two parts of a single charge. But, the truth is much more complicated than that. While the two are related, and you could be charged with both, they are two distinct and separate crimes.
The Definition of Battery
Battery is defined as the willful, unlawful use of force against another person. This is a violation of Penal Code 242 and must have three separate elements:
- The act must be willful and unlawful
- Force or violence is used
- The willful use of violence or force is used against another person.
In other words, you have to intend to use force or violence, it has to involve another person, but it doesn't have to actually cause any damage, injury, or harm. In fact, you don't even have to touch the body of the other person, in order to be guilty of battery. If you touch anything that is “intimately connected” to the other person, like their clothing or something they are holding, in a disrespectful or rude way, you could be charged with battery.
The crime of assault doesn't require any physical contact. You may have heard, or even used, the phrase, “He (or she) assaulted me!” in a situation where someone was actually hurt by physical violence. However, assault is not necessarily an attack of any kind, but merely the attempt to make unlawful contact with the intent of doing harm.
There are three components of assault, as defined by Penal Code 240:
- There must be an unlawful attempt
- There must be ability
- There must be another person upon whom violence or injury was threatened or attempted
“Attempt” means that someone tried to do something; not that they thought about it or wanted to, but that they tried.
If the assault is committed against certain health care providers or public workers, it is a violation of PC 241 and can bring penalties of up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and probation up to one year.
Felony Assault Bail Bonds
Assaults that can be charged as felonies are violations of PC 241.1, PC 241.2, PC 241.4, PC 241.7, and PC 241.8 and include assault against:
- doctors and nurses
- emergency medical technicians and paramedics
- school employees
- animal control officers
- highway workers
- members of the United States military, if the assault is motivated by the fact of service in the military
- public transportation employees
- probation department employees
Felony assault can be punished by up to three years in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and probation up to three years.
Felony battery penalties include up to three years in county jail or state prison, depending on the offender's history, a fine of up to $2,000 ($5,000 if the victim is a juror or $10,000 if the victim is a public transport worker or passenger), and up to three years probation.
Assault With a Deadly Weapon – PC 245(a)(1)
Aggravated assault includes assault with a deadly weapon or assault where there is an intent to commit a felony such as rape or murder. Assault with a deadly weapon is what is called a “wobbler” in California, meaning that it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
If charged as a felony, the amount of bail required to get out of jail will be higher than if it is charged as a misdemeanor. However it is charged, bail for assault with a deadly weapon is often more than most people can easily come up with. That is when a bail bondsman can be a good person to know. Mr. Nice Guy Bail Bonds can arrange bail for you if you’ve been charged with assault, battery, or any number of things.
Call Mr. Nice Guy to get started on bail bonds for assault at (844) 400-2245.
Low Cost Bail Bonds in Santa Maria
Mr. Nice Guy's licensed bail agents can process bail bonds for arrests throughout Southern California and offers bail premiums as low as 7%* (the lowest bail bond rate allowed in California). No other bail bondsman can offer lower rates. Call now, or start the bail bonds process online. (844) 400-BAIL (2245)
Some bail bond companies require an annual premium on the anniversary of charges, but Mr. Nice Guy never does that. Once you've secured a bond through Mr. Nice Guy Bail Bonds, there are no additional fees or recurring charges. Mr. Nice Guy will even work with you on establishing a payment plan for a bail bond, to help get yourself or a loved one out of jail when you're on a budget. It just doesn't get much nicer than that!
Other online services include free warrant checks and a direct link to the most Sheriff's Department databases.
If you need a bail bond in Santa Maria: if you want fast, private service at the best rates available; if you are looking for professional service, call Mr. Nice Guy toll free at (844)400-2245.